HomeBusiness

How to Get Your West Virginia Property License

Getting your property license in West Virginia is a little more complicated than in other states because it does not follow the usual process and invo

The failure of company executives caught without a license
How to Get Your Wisconsin Property License
How to Get a Real Estate License in Every State

This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I may earn a commission if you click on the link & sign-up or make a purchase. You will NOT be charged extra for using the link, but it goes a long way in supporting this blog. I only recommend products or services that I have personally used or believe will add value to my readers.

Getting your property license in West Virginia is a little more complicated than in other states because it does not follow the usual process and involves more paperwork. You must complete 90 hours of West Virginia Real Estate Commission (WVREC) approved education, get fingerprints for a background check, find a sponsorship broker, apply for the exam, pass the exam and apply for a license if. We are here to guide you step-by-step through the process of becoming a real estate agent in West Virginia.

Graphic representation of the step-by-step guide on how to get your West Virginia real estate license.

1. Meet the Legal Requirements for Your West Virginia Property License

West Virginia has several legal requirements that every property license applicant must meet. You are expected to be 18 years or older, have a high school diploma or GED, be of reliable, good moral character and competent to do business.

To determine your reliability, character and competence, the state will evaluate your background check and criminal record. Applicants who have a criminal record will be reviewed on a case-by-case basis to determine if they are eligible for a license.

Did you know?

West Virginia has reciprocity agreements with Kentucky and Ohio. This means that if you are a resident of these states, you must file the following paperwork for non-resident licensees.

Also, West Virginia is a physical state in terms of portability. A physical location state allows agents and realtors to do business in another state, but does not allow them to enter the state to conduct real estate business. To learn more about the transferability of property licenses in West Virginia, check out our Guide on Reciprocity and Transferability of Property Licenses.

2. Complete Required Pre-Licensing Courses

If you meet the legal requirements of West Virginia, you can move forward with your pre-license training. Courses must be taken at an accredited real estate school, but students can decide whether they want to complete them in person, online or a mixture of both learning formats. Costs range from $ 399 to $ 674, and discuss the following topics to prepare you for your real estate exam:

  • Activities that require a license; license exemptions
  • Scope of practice, closing statement and fees
  • Advertising rules
  • Trust funds
  • Refusal, suspension or revocation of a license
  • Penalty for transgressions
  • Complaints, investigation, hearings, costs of proceedings
  • West Virginia Fair Housing
  • Agency Relations
  • Purpose of licensing law and regulations and role of the Commission
  • Duties of licensees; duration of existing licenses; transfers
  • License renewal
  • Continuing professional education
  • Property ownership
  • Land use controls and regulations
  • Valuation and market analysis
  • Financing
  • General principles of agency
  • Property disclosures
  • Contracts
  • Rental and property management
  • Title transfer
  • Practice of real estate
  • Property calculations

A successful real estate career begins with a high quality education. Cooke Real Estate School offers students affordable, self-paced online learning to complete their real estate education in West Virginia. There is a weekly online interactive seminar, which provides additional insight and advice on the real estate industry or answers student questions. In addition, for students who prefer textbooks as a learning tool, Cooke Real Estate School has an entire library of resources to prepare you for your real estate exam and beyond.

Visit Cooke Real Estate School

Get fingerprints and complete background checks

After completing your pre-licensing courses, you need to schedule your fingerprint appointment so that you can complete your background check. Your application to sit for the exam cannot be processed until your background check has been completed. Therefore, it is important to start this process immediately.

Background checks for West Virginia are scheduled and performed by IdentoGO, a third-party background check service. You will be instructed to enter the WVREC Service Commission code 228Q6K, which will take you to the scheduling portal to select an appointment and date or request a mail-in fingerprint card.

You will also need specific documents to verify your identity when you arrive at the appointment. Typically, you will be required to bring a valid photo ID such as a passport or driver’s license, but identification may vary depending on your citizenship status. Review the documents you need by entering your information on the IdentoGO website.

The fee for the service is $ 45.75 and can be paid directly on the website with a credit or debit card. All criminal background checks will expire 90 days after the report issuance date. In addition, if you feel your report is inaccurate, you can dispute it with the West Virginia State Police or FBI.

4. Choose a company to work for

Before you apply to take your exam and also have an active real estate license in West Virginia, you need to find and join a bailiff’s office. To make your choice a little easier, check out our in-depth article that explains how to choose a real estate company to work for. Although there are many successful brokers and individual agents in the Mountain State, below you will find the top four teams and agents listed for 2022.

(Source: Real Trends 2022)

West Virginia Cities With Highest Median Sales Price 2022

Agents need to be aware of the price points in each neighborhood they serve so that they can give proper guidance to their clients. If you can estimate the price points for each property you sell, you will also give an idea of ​​the income you will be able to earn. To get an idea of ​​which cities bring the money to West Virginia, check out these Towncharts.com sales data below:

5. Submit an application to write the examination

Once you have selected a surety broker, you can apply to take your West Virginia real estate license exam. You will be required to complete and mail a printed application or submit your application online to write the examination. Along with the application, you will be required to submit the following items:

  • $ 25 application fee
  • Certificate of completion of your real estate school
  • Recommendation of surety brokers (signed and notarized by the broker of record)
  • Two recommendations from property owners
  • (If applicable) Certification of license of each licensing authority where you currently hold or have held a property license.
  • (If applicable) Documentation of any criminal offenses

Please note: The application must be signed and notarized by the applicant.

Once your exam application has been approved, you will receive an email from the exam provider that will allow you to schedule your exam date. If you do not receive this email within 72 hours, please contact the WVREC. Examination admission is valid for 90 days after it has been processed.

6. Take the West Virginia Real Estate Exam

The West Virginia real estate exam is divided into a national and state section, and you must pass both to move forward with a license. The exam is taken on the computer, so your score will be displayed on the screen immediately after the exam, and a score report will also be sent to you by email.

If you pass, you will receive a successful notification and must save the report to upload along with your license application. If you fail, you will receive an email report containing diagnostic information outlining your strengths and weaknesses so that you can study and plan an exam recurrence. You are only expected to take over the portion (s) you failed.

You will have 90 days or two to pass both sections, whichever comes first, or you will be required to resubmit the application to write the examination. You can reschedule your exam 24 hours after your failed attempt. If you have exceeded the 90-day or two examination attempts, resubmit your application for the examination to lindsey.w.ridener@wv.gov.

West Virginia Property Examination Details

Schedule your exam

Once your exam application has been approved, you will receive an email from PSI, a national provider of state licensing exams, to schedule your test date. To begin scheduling, you will be required to create an account on the PSI website, which will then provide access to the scheduling portal.

You will receive a copy of the West Virginia Candidate Information Bulletin for additional test information. The exam fee is $ 96 and can be paid directly on the website with a credit or debit card.

PrepAgent is a valuable resource for any agent trying to pass their real estate exam for the first time and start a successful career. Whether you need to take the test one week or one year from today, PrepAgent provides packages that can accommodate your needs and schedule. With audio, video, and live webinar lessons, agents can choose a learning format that works for them. The more you prepare and study, the more confident you will feel on the test day.

Visit PrepAgent

7. Apply for your West Virginia License

After you pass your exam, you are ready to submit your license application and become a West Virginia real estate agent. It is important to apply for your license as soon as possible after passing the exam, as the results will only be valid for 90 days.

You will be required to submit your application online through the WVREC Application System. In addition, you must upload proof that you have passed both parts of the exam and a signed and notarized salesperson license letter. The original $ 75 license fee can be paid directly through the online system using a debit or credit card.

8. Start your real estate career

Now that you’ve learned how to become a real estate agent in West Virginia, you’re ready to begin your professional real estate journey. For more information, here are some of our articles with content that is perfect for new real estate agents:

COMMENTS

WORDPRESS: 0
    error: Content is protected !!