HomeBusiness

How to Get Your Wyoming Property License

There are a few hoops to jump through to get your Wyoming real estate license. You are expected to get fingerprints for a background check, complete

How to Get Your West Virginia Property License
How to Get Your South Carolina Property License
The failure of company executives caught without a license

This post may contain affiliate links, which means that I may earn a commission if you click on the link & sign-up or make a purchase. You will NOT be charged extra for using the link, but it goes a long way in supporting this blog. I only recommend products or services that I have personally used or believe will add value to my readers.

There are a few hoops to jump through to get your Wyoming real estate license. You are expected to get fingerprints for a background check, complete 54 hours of Wyoming Real Estate Commission (WREC) approved education, pass an exam, choose a sponsor brokerage firm, obtain errors and omissions insurance, and submit an application. Read on as we guide you through the step-by-step process of becoming a real estate agent in Wyoming.

A step-by-step guide on how to get a property license in Wyoming.

1. Meet the Legal Requirements for Your Wyoming Property License

There are minimal government requirements to qualify for your Wyoming property license. You must be at least 18 years old and be a legal resident of the United States

Did you know?

Wyoming has no reciprocity agreements with any other state. However, if you are licensed in another state, you can obtain fingerprints for a background check, submit an irrevocable consent to service of process form, complete the Wyoming Law Course and Salesperson II course, pass the Wyoming State Exam, and pass application completed.

Wyoming is also a cooperating state in terms of portability. It allows out-of-state real estate agents or realtors to enter the state to do real estate business physically. However, for outside state agents to work on a real estate transaction, they must have a co-brokerage agreement with a licensee of that state. To learn more about the transferability of property licenses in Wyoming, check out our Guide on Reciprocity and Transferability of Property Licenses.

If you have a criminal record, you may still be able to become a real estate agent in Wyoming. The WREC will review each applicant on a case-by-case basis to determine suitability. Violations related to the ability to practice as a broker-dealer, agent, investment adviser, or investment adviser representative or practitioner in securities and investments will be more difficult to obtain a license. Review the Wyoming Legislature website for additional information.

2. Get fingerprints and full background

Before enrolling for your pre-license training, it is important to begin the fingerprinting process. Otherwise, your application will not be approved until your fingerprints have been processed. Criminal history record checks can usually be completed within two weeks, but can take up to five or six weeks, depending on the number of applicants.

Fingerprints can be taken at any local law enforcement agency by calling for an appointment. The fingerprint fee will vary by location. You will be required to submit two fingerprint cards that are fully rolled up and have clear prints with an accurate pattern interpretation, ridge count and meandering.

After your fingerprints have been taken, the cards must be signed by an official, in a manila envelope that is at least 9 × 9 inches, sealed and stamped by the official who took them, and the official must also sign the stamp . All of these criteria must be met, otherwise the fingerprints will be returned.

Along with your fingerprint cards, you will need to mail a letter containing your name, email and phone number and a certified check or money order for $ 39 which is payable at the Office of the Attorney General to the WREC. For more information, refer to the Wyoming fingerprint card instructions.

3. Complete Required Pre-Licensing Courses

After submitting your fingerprint cards, you are ready to begin your pre-license training. Wyoming requires all applicants to complete 54 hours of coursework divided into Salesperson I, Salesperson II and Wyoming Law classes. These courses can be completed in person or at an online real estate school, with rates ranging from $ 380 to $ 695. The classes will consist of the following topics:

  • Property properties, legal descriptions and property use
  • Forms of title ownership, transfer and recordings
  • Property value and valuation
  • Real estate contracts and agency
  • Real Estate Practice
  • Property Disclosure and Environmental Issues
  • Financing and settlement
  • Property Mathematical Calculations
  • The powers of the real estate licensing agency
  • Licensing
  • Requirements governing the activities of licensees
  • Property Recovery and Education Fund
  • Land description
  • Landlord / tenant relationship
  • Exclusion and redemption
  • Statute of fraud
  • Broker’s Price Opinion (BPOs)

You can start your class work right away at a real estate school like Steve Willoughby Seminars. It allows students to choose between personal and online classes in a variety of formats, such as self-paced, on-demand video, and live streaming. The instructors are local Wyoming real estate veterans, so they can provide insight and advice to new agents getting ready to embark on a successful real estate career.

Visit Steve Willoughby Seminars

4. Take the Wyoming Real Estate Exam

The Wyoming Property License Examination is divided into the national and state sections. You must pass both sections to move forward with the licensing process. The exam is taken on the computer, so you will receive your results immediately afterwards.

If you pass, you will receive a successful notice and information on how to apply for your license. If you fail, you will receive your score along with a diagnostic report outlining your strengths and weaknesses so that you can study for your next attempt. You can reschedule the exam within 24 hours of your failed attempt.

If you failed one part of the exam, you are only expected to take that part again. You must pass both sections within six months. Otherwise you will be expected to write and pass the entire exam.

Wyoming Real Estate Exam Details

Schedule your exam

The global testing company Pearson VUE is the official administrator of the Wyoming real estate exam. To begin scheduling, you will be required to create an account on the Pearson VUE website, which will then provide access to the scheduling portal.

You will receive a copy of the Wyoming Candidate Handbook with additional test information. You can pay the $ 160 exam fee ($ 80 for the national portion and $ 80 for the state portion) directly through the Pearson website using a credit card, debit card, electronic check or proof of purchase. You can also choose to take the exam from home for $ 180 or $ 90 for each serving.

It is important to feel confident when you walk into the test day. PrepAgent has tools that can prepare agents to pass their exam on the first try. Use video, audio, and live webinar formats to review state- and national-focused material. In addition, it has flashcards, vocabulary worksheets and e-books that you can use to prepare for your real estate career.

Visit PrepAgent

5. Choose a company to work for

To hold an active license in Wyoming, you must find a sponsor to bind your license. Your sponsor must complete, sign and notarize page 4 of your Wyoming property license application.

To make your choice a little easier, check out our in-depth article that explains how to choose a real estate company to work for. Although there are many successful brokers in the Equality State, below you will find the top five brokers listed for 2022.

(Source: Real Trends 2022)

Wyoming cities with the highest median selling price 2022

The higher homes sell for resources, the higher commission you have the opportunity to get. To get an idea of ​​which cities bring the money to Wyoming, check out these Towncharts.com sales data below:

6. Obtain errors and omission insurance

To have an active license, all real estate workers in Wyoming must have Error and Omission Insurance (E&O). It is used to protect real estate businesses from mistakes made during professional service. The WREC works closely with Rice Insurance Services, LLC to provide affordable options, or you can choose your own provider and submit the Property Licensee’s Equivalent Cover Certificate Form.

For more information on the regulations surrounding E&O insurance in Wyoming, read through the E&O fact sheet.

7. Apply for your Wyoming license

Once you have obtained E&O insurance, you are ready to submit your property license. You must submit your application within 90 days after passing both parts of your Wyoming real estate exam. There are a number of items to include in your Wyoming application, including:

  • $ 300 fee per check payable to WREC or credit card using the Credit Card Authorization Form
  • Two fingerprint cards and $ 39 fee (this should have been done beforehand — see Step 2)
  • Recent close-ups (no sunglasses)
  • Certificate of Completion for Coursework from Salesperson I, Salesperson II and Wyoming Law
  • Pass State and national examination score report
  • Proof of legal presence (can be a birth certificate and driver’s license or passport)
  • Proof of errors and omission insurance
  • Process form service (for non-resident applicants only)

Your application and all of the above items must be mailed to the WREC either by email or. For additional information, refer to the Wyoming Application Instructions.

8. Start your real estate career

Now that you’ve learned how to become a real estate agent in Wyoming, you’re ready to begin your professional real estate journey. For more information, here are some of our articles with content that is perfect for new real estate agents:

COMMENTS

WORDPRESS: 0
    error: Content is protected !!